The Future of the AccessWatch Review System

Greetings AccessWatch Users:

I have decided that it will be necessary for me to take the AccessWatch review system offline for the foreseeable future. It is becoming apparent to me that some careful consideration needs to be made in order to determine how to best make the database for the review system as reliable as possible. I am looking into several options, not the least of which is to increase the entries in the AccessWatch blog significantly. Thanks to Jeff Bishop and the Main Menu team, AccessWatch has an incredible opportunity to share software reviews with the blind community. Several people have expressed a desire that the AccessWatch blog be better maintained. My friend Tyson Treasure—the real brains behind the review system–is increasingly busy and has less and less time to devote to the project as well. The last three years have been fun, and AccessWatch isn’t going anywhere. I think it is simply time to reexamine how AccessWatch can best serve the blind community. On a personal note, I have more exciting news coming, but I don’t want to divulge it at this time. Watch the blog in the coming days. Thanks to everyone who has submitted reviews to the site and made it what it is. If you would like me to feature a product review on Main Menu, please drop me an e-mail with a short review. Unless you request otherwise, I will give you credit for the review by name. If you don’t already have it in your contacts list, you can find my contact information on the AccessWatch site. Take care and happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

